Night of Terror

I don’t know how our soldiers can endure what they do, when my small brush with danger can still bring with its memory, the heart-stopping terror I experienced then.  Here then is my recollection of my Night of Terror early in 1978.

It happened to me in Mkawsine, Rhodesia and you can read the story in the side bar.  As I wrote it, all these years later, my breathing became shallow, my pulse quickened and agitation caused me to stop writing many times and take a walk.

It was fifteen years after the event before I could tell that story without the heat of humiliation or fear of ridicule.

Leave a Reply

